390A2743

McLaren 720S Coupe

 
0.0
 
8.6 (5)
0 14 0
Details coming soon

User reviews

5 reviews
Overall rating
 
8.6
Build quailty
 
8.4(5)
Reliability
 
8.9(5)
Performance
 
10.0(5)
Handling
 
9.6(5)
Safety & Security
 
9.1(5)
Touring capability (Luggage space, comfort etc)
 
8.2(5)
Main Dealer / Specialist experience?
 
8.2(5)
Servicing costs
 
8.9(5)
Availability of parts
 
8.6(5)
Ease of undertaking DIY work?
 
5.4(5)
Depreciation
 
5.5(5)
Feel good factor
 
10.0(5)
Did the car meet your expectations?
 
9.5(5)
Would you recommend this car?
 
9.3(5)
McLaren 720s Coupe
(Updated: July 04, 2020)
Overall rating
 
8.4
Build quailty
 
8.5
Reliability
 
8.5
Performance
 
10.0
Handling
 
9.5
Safety & Security
 
8.5
Touring capability (Luggage space, comfort etc)
 
7.5
Main Dealer / Specialist experience?
 
7.5
Servicing costs
 
8.0
Availability of parts
 
7.5
Ease of undertaking DIY work?
 
8.5
Depreciation
 
6.0
Feel good factor
 
10.0
Did the car meet your expectations?
 
9.5
Would you recommend this car?
 
8.5
Absolutely love this car. Cant stop smiling. 

Car reviews

Full model designation of your vehicle
McLaren 720s Luxury
Bought it
New
Model year
2019
Ownership period
I year
Miles / km driven?
2000m
Would you buy from this manufacturer again?
Yes
mclaren 720s performance
(Updated: July 06, 2020)
Overall rating
 
9.2
Build quailty
 
8.0
Reliability
 
9.0
Performance
 
10.0
Handling
 
10.0
Safety & Security
 
10.0
Touring capability (Luggage space, comfort etc)
 
9.0
Main Dealer / Specialist experience?
 
8.0
Servicing costs
 
10.0
Availability of parts
 
10.0
Ease of undertaking DIY work?
 
7.5
Depreciation
 
7.0
Feel good factor
 
10.0
Did the car meet your expectations?
 
10.0
Would you recommend this car?
 
10.0
Full review to follow....

Car reviews

Full model designation of your vehicle
720s
Bought it
Used
Model year
2018
Ownership period
1
Miles / km driven?
3000
Would you buy from this manufacturer again?
Yes
HA
Top 10 Reviewer 1 reviews
Yes, it really is as good as all the magazines say it is!
(Updated: July 04, 2020)
Overall rating
 
8.3
Build quailty
 
9.0
Reliability
 
10.0
Performance
 
10.0
Handling
 
10.0
Safety & Security
 
8.0
Touring capability (Luggage space, comfort etc)
 
8.0
Main Dealer / Specialist experience?
 
7.5
Servicing costs
 
8.0
Availability of parts
 
8.0
Ease of undertaking DIY work?
 
3.0
Depreciation
 
5.0
Feel good factor
 
10.0
Did the car meet your expectations?
 
10.0
Would you recommend this car?
 
10.0
This is my third Mclaren having started off with the slowest, cheapest car they've ever made the 540C, purchased new March 2017. 
Covered 6,800 miles in just over a year before being seduced by the looks of a brand new 570 Spider in May 2018...... 
Just when I thought I'd found the perfect car, covering 7,000 miles in just over 15 months including two hair-raising trips to the Isle of Man, Mc Brum called me with a "deal" on a stock 720S. 

It was Ventura Orange, like my previous two so I think they just checked their contacts & looked up "the sucker who cannot resist a new Shiney Orange Car" and called him first!
I'd driven the 720 at the Top Gear track a couple of weeks beforehand and WOW! It was unbelievably fast, particularly in the very capable, tyre melting hands of the McLaren Pro Drivers. 
I felt physically assaulted, but my 24 year old son just took all the laps they would give him..... youth, I do miss it!

Anyway, the deal was good. A car listed at £265,000 (BTW  I didn't have £265,000 just lying about my gaff!) would cost me  over 3 years .... well I figured it would be the same cost as keeping the 570 Spider, so I took the wife on a long walk.......

Having agreed to change & improve many aspects of my behaviour in a significant number of areas on that walk, I've owned the 720S since September 2019 yet I've never found the words to adequately describe how or why it's better than the Sports Series 540 & 570. 
Definitely POWER! and the magical suspension, oh and the air-brake wing. The sight of that popping up and obliterating your rear view mirror is one of those priceless moments that just make you giggle.
It just is better all round than the Sports Series, massively better and is it should be for the price premium.... and it really is a SuperCar

The 720S has managed to convince me it's 3 cars in one with a significant difference between all 3
It feels as easy to drive as an A4 or 320i around town, smooth, auto, quiet. For such a powerful and capable car it is so easy, so brilliant that I do use it most days
Living in the Peak District I often pop "out for a drive" going nowhere really, but set in Sport/Sport across the hills from Ashbourne to Buxton  and f***ing loving it. 
Tight, sharp steering, ballistic pick up and brilliant brakes. The view is amazing, glass all round and yes having been a pilot, it does make you feel like...er well,  a fighter pilot..... just need Goose & a radar to pick up  those mobile speed camera vans!

Track/Track setting this is a monster. But a good monster, makes you feel like Hiccup the "Dragon Whisperer" in  How to Train Your Dragon... I've got kids......
Donnington is only 25 minutes away from home; I'm pretty slow on track (ask anyone in the Mc Club!) but hell, this car makes everyone look good. It appears to be sucked down onto the track and at this point I'll run out of words, but Top Gear and Chris Harris are a great source if you need to see more Track stuff on the 720S.

Looks, didn't like it at first, particularly the eyes, but love it now. The curves are everywhere and is even better to know that like any supermodel they are all there for a reason. It look so different from anything on the road. And that bum, with the wing dancing up and down is something else.

Mc's generally get slated on most forums.... I've owned three all from new. Covered 18-19,000 miles and in that time had niggles, but honestly I've had more issues with my Macan GTS in that time AND McBrum have been significantly better at fixing and communication than Porsche Nottingham ever have been.
Servicing, I've always been offered a loaner a Mc whilst mine has been in and so far cost have been the similar to my previous Audi R8 with first year being circa £850 inc trailer pick up and drop off for the 720 and circa £600 for the 540 & 570.

Did I look at other stuff before buying Mc again? Hell Yeh and had a great time doing so.
 The Perf was good, very good, loved the raw energy and that sound!!! But I felt by mid 2019 it was showing its age and design wise starting to look old. 
The 488 and 458 both brilliant fun and fast, but the McLaren steering and feel on the road feel just felt in a different league. The front-end grip of these Mc things is something that has to be experienced to be believed.

So the ultimate test... knowing everything about this car now would I buy it again? Absolutely yes! 
Does it make you feel good and grin every time you drive it....even to Aldi. Definitely  yes!
And finally, almost a year after ownership do you still feel like a berk as  you cannot resist a peek at those lines again as you walk away....'fraid so. 

Surely that is how a car, especially a Supercar bought with both the heart and head should make you feel!



Car reviews

Full model designation of your vehicle
720s Performance
Bought it
New
Model year
2019
Ownership period
At least 3 years
Miles / km driven?
5,000
Would you buy from this manufacturer again?
Yes
Bottom!
Peaks
Peaks
WL
Top 50 Reviewer 1 reviews
Hypercar in Sheep’s Clothing
Overall rating
 
7.7
Build quailty
 
7.5
Reliability
 
7.0
Performance
 
10.0
Handling
 
8.5
Safety & Security
 
9.0
Touring capability (Luggage space, comfort etc)
 
8.5
Main Dealer / Specialist experience?
 
8.0
Servicing costs
 
8.5
Availability of parts
 
7.5
Ease of undertaking DIY work?
 
3.0
Depreciation
 
4.5
Feel good factor
 
10.0
Did the car meet your expectations?
 
8.0
Would you recommend this car?
 
8.0
There has been plenty  written on McLarens reliability and depreciation so not going to comment on these aspects as I haven’t suffered particularly even though i am on my 2nd Mac.

What I would like to comment on is the ballistic performance. The 720s really is too fast for the road and anyone contemplating purchasing one without intending to track it would be well advised to look at a  570s or 600 LT.  

It is though a car that you can enjoy as a daily and I guess if you want the bragging rights of being the fastest fine but lower powered McLarens may be a better bet. It’s strange to say it but it may be just too fast !! 

The ease at which it can accelerate to twice the legal speed limit is ridiculous and how it copes with it without fuss is quite incredible. 

Clearly just my opinion but as I track my cars I can get to appreciate the power but on road you may get  yourself in trouble.


Car reviews

Full model designation of your vehicle
McLaren 720s Performance
Bought it
Used
Model year
2018
Ownership period
3 months
Miles / km driven?
1,500
Would you buy from this manufacturer again?
Yes
JM
720S Performance
(Updated: July 04, 2020)
Overall rating
 
9.1
Build quailty
 
9.0
Reliability
 
10.0
Performance
 
10.0
Handling
 
10.0
Safety & Security
 
10.0
Touring capability (Luggage space, comfort etc)
 
8.0
Main Dealer / Specialist experience?
 
10.0
Servicing costs
 
10.0
Availability of parts
 
10.0
Ease of undertaking DIY work?
 
5.0
Depreciation
 
5.0
Feel good factor
 
10.0
Did the car meet your expectations?
 
10.0
Would you recommend this car?
 
10.0
Fully detailed written review to follow after it is published in Issue 1.

Car reviews

Full model designation of your vehicle
720S Performance
Bought it
New
Model year
2018 (but 2019 model year)
Ownership period
2 years
Miles / km driven?
4000m
Would you buy from this manufacturer again?
Yes
IMG_E0039e
IMG_E0023e
IMG_E0002
IMG_E0026e
IMG_3354_5_6s
IMG_3581_2_3w
IMG_3572_3_4w
IMG_3339_40_41es
IMG_3348_49_50es
IMG_3306_7_8_1es

The UK's premiere Supercar Community

Our Sponsors

azuri

kuflink

redline247